2016 RED KAP SCORE MILESTONE Award Update – SCORE-International.com


SCORE MEDIA CONTACT: Dominic Clark, dominiccnv@aol.com

June 27, 2016

In 20 Classes
57 racers standing in 2016 Red Kap SCORE Milestone Awards
chase on way to 20th Rosarito Beach SCORE Desert Challenge 
round three of internationally televised four-race 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship;
racers in cars, trucks, UTVs, motorcycles and quads expected from around the globe in Mexico

RENO, Nev.—Following the second of four races in the 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship, 57 of toughest racers in the world remain in the hunt to earn 2016 Red Kap SCORE Milestone Awards. In early June in Baja California, Mexico, Round 2 was held at the SCORE Baja 500 that was run on a brutally rugged 477.52-mile course that started and finished in Ensenada on June 4-5.
SCORE is presenting these prestigious awards to the world’s toughest desert racers for the 31st consecutive year. The Red Kap SCORE Milestone awards will be presented to the car, truck, UTV drivers and motorcycle, quad riders who finish every required mile in the 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship.

Leading the way in the chase for 2016 Red Kap SCORE Milestone Awards are three superlative stallions in the featured SCORE Trophy Truck division, seven in the unlimited Class 1, four in Trophy Truck Spec, six in Class 10, six in Pro UTV FI (Forced Injection), five in Class 1/2-1600, five in Class 40 (motorcycle riders over 40 years old) and four in Pro Moto Unlimited.
“SCORE is privileged to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers,” said Roger Norman, SCORE CEO/President. “For over three decades, SCORE has been very humbled to present the SCORE Milestone Awards, now presented by Red Kap, to the toughest, most rugged racers on the planet. We are also extremely grateful that Red Kap continues our vision for this most prestigious award that has become iconic in our sport.”
The three SCORE Trophy Truck thoroughbreds who have galloped through every challenging race mile so far this season are: Billy Wilson, Corpus Christi, Texas, (No. 15 Bevly Wilson Motorsports Chevy Silverado), Carlos ‘Apdaly’ Lopez, Tecate, Mexico (No. 1 RPM Racing Chevy Rally Truck) and Gary Magness, Denver (No. 45 Mango Racing, Ford F-150). SCORE Trophy Truck is the sport’s marquee racing division for high-tech, 850 horsepower unlimited production trucks.
With the most racers still in the hunt for the coveted awards is Class 1 for unlimited open-wheel desert race cars. The daring drivers who have covered every mile to date are Ronny Wilson, Long Beach, Calif. (No. 138, Jimco-Chevy), Scott Rueschenberg, Phoenix (No. 125, Tatum-Chevy), Brad Wilson, Long Beach, Calif. (No. 153, Jimco-Chevy), Derek Fletcher, Abingdon, Va. (No. 106, Tatum-Chevy), Al Torres, El Centro, Calif. (No. 114, Jimco-Chevy), Jaime Huerta Jr, Calexico, Calif. (No. 175, Racer-Chevy) and George Peters, Newbury Park, Calif. (No. 131, Racer-Chevy).
All races in the four-race 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship, along with the special SEMA SCORE Baja 1000 Experience and qualifying for the SCORE Baja 1000 from Las Vegas Motor Speedway are once again airing in the USA and Canada on the CBS Sports Network. The spectacular shows feature not only SCORE Trophy Truck coverage, but also top action and highlights from many other classes of trucks, cars, UTVs, motorcycles and quads – making sure that the most exciting footage and most compelling stories continue as part of each race event broadcast.
Capping off the 2016 broadcast season, the SCORE Baja 1000 broadcast on CBS Sports Network will air as a full two-hour special for the second straight year.
2016 CBS Sports Network Original Broadcast Schedule (subject to change, check local listings)
· SCORE San Felipe 250 (first telecast-Sunday, April 17, 9 p.m. ET)
· SCORE Baja 500 (two hour special) (first telecast-Sunday, July 24, 9 p.m. ET)
· Rosarito Beach SCORE Desert Challenge (first telecast-Sunday, Nov. 13, 9 p.m. ET)
· SCORE Baja 1000 Qualifying @SEMA SCORE Baja 1000 Experience (first telecast-Sunday, Dec.18, 9 p.m. ET)
· SCORE Baja 1000 (two-hour special) (first telecast-Sunday, December 25, 9 p.m. ET)
CBS Sports Network is available across the country through local cable, video and telco providers and via satellite on DirecTV Channel 221 and Dish Network Channel 158. For more information, including a full programming schedule and how to get CBS Sports Network, go to www.cbssportsnetwork.com.
From award-winning documentary filmmaker Dana Brown, Dust2Glory will chronicle each of the four races in the 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship. Now, D2G, which began shooting at last year’s SCORE Baja 1000, and is continuing up close and personal coverage capturing the robust racers in their amazing adventures in Mexico’s majestic Baja California peninsula through all four spectacular 2016 races.
The four-race 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship will include four special events and for the first time all four will be held in Baja California, Mexico. Here is the complete 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship schedule:
· 30th SCORE San Felipe 250, Feb. 25-28, San Felipe, Mexico
· 48th SCORE Baja 500, June 1-5, Ensenada Mexico
· 20th Rosarito Beach SCORE Desert Challenge, Sept. 14-18, Rosarito, Mexico
· 49th SCORE Baja 1000, Nov.16-20, Ensenada, Mexico
Official SCORE Sponsors: Bud Light-Official Beer, Monster Energy-Official Energy Drink, BFGoodrich Tires-Official Tire, King Shocks-Official Shock Absorber, Vision Wheel – Official Wheel, Axial R/C-Official R/C Vehicle, Muck Daddy-Official Hand Cleaner, CBS Sports Network-Official Television Partner, Wide Open Excursions- Official Arrive and Drive Company, Crystal Bay Casino-Official Casino.
Official SCORE Partners: 4 Wheel Parts, Coca Cola, The Satellite Phone Store, PCI Race Radios.
Additional SCORE Partners: Proturismo Ensenada, Visit Baja California Sur, Baja California Secretary of Tourism, Baja California Sur State Government, Mexicali Ayuntamineto, COTUCO Mexicali/San Felipe, Cruz Roja Mexicana, Corporate Helicopters, Instant Mexico Auto Insurance, McKenzie’s Performance Products, Advanced Color Graphics.
For more information, visit the official website of the SCORE World Desert Championship at www.SCORE-International.com.
2016 Red Kap SCORE Milestone Awards
(57 car, truck, UTV, M/C and quad racers who have completed every required mile after two rounds of the four-race 2016 SCORE World Desert Championship)

SCORE Trophy Truck
Billy Wilson
Carlos ‘Apdaly’ Lopez
Gary Magness
Class 1
Ronny Wilson
Scott Rueschenberg
Brad Wilson
Derek Fletcher
Al Torres
Jaime Huerta Jr
George Peters
Trophy Truck Spec
Chad Broughton
Craig Christy
Elias Hanna
Gonzalo Pirron
Class 10
Rafael Navarro IV
Todd Winslow
Sergio Salgado
Mike Lawrence
Armando Boehme
Scott Youngren
Class 8
Aaron Ampudia
Class 1/2-1600
Jorge Sampietro
Ruben Sanudo
Ramon Bio
Miguel Cortez
Horacio Fernandez
Eric Palacios
Cesar Vela
Class 5
Victor Cesena
Ben Swift
Class 7
Dan Chamlee
Marc Burnett
Derek Murray
Mike Cafro
Cory Sappington
Brandon Schueler
Scott Trafton
Alonzo Lopez
David Nance
Class 11
Noe Gutierrez
Rene Rodrigues
Pro Moto Unlimited
Colton Udall
Francisco Arredondo
Kevin Murphy
Ray Dal Soglio
Pro Moto Limited
Mark Winkelman
Class 40
Jano Montoya
Mike Johnson
Colie Potter
Giovanni Spinalli
Craig Thompson
Pro Moto Ironman
Carlin Dunne
Pro Moto 50
Mark Winkelman
Pro Quad
Javier Robles Jr
Said Sanchez
SPT Moto
Kristopher Harvey
SPT Quad
Eddie Bareno