Champion SCORE desert racers Joe Bacal, Elias Hanna, Matt Parks in spotlight during Tuesday’s SCORE Dirt LiveHD internet show –

Champion SCORE desert racers Joe Bacal, Elias Hanna, Matt Parks in spotlight during Tuesday’s SCORE Dirt LiveHD internet show

December 9, 2013

Prelude to live coverage of Saturday’s annual SCORE Awards Night at San Diego’s Town & Country

     SAN DIEGO—As a prelude to this weekend’s live coverage of the 2014 SCORE Awards Night, featured in the SCORE spotlight during Tuesday’s SCORE Dirt LiveHD internet show airing at 7 p.m. (PT) will be champion SCORE desert racers Joe Bacal, Elias Hanna and Matt Parks. The one-hour show will include candid interviews with the three racers who combined to win seven races during the three-race 2013 SCORE Desert Series.
Bacal races in the Stock Full class, Hanna in Class 7SX and Parks in the new Class 19.
Roger Norman’s Dirt LiveHD one-hour show is broadcast live weekly and the show is anchored around Norman’s two desert racing series, the SCORE Desert Series and the High Desert Racing Association as well as the new bonus points championship purse program he has developed called the World Championship of Desert Racing. All live events, this will be the 47th weekly Dirt LiveHD episode to air. Replays of previous Dirt LiveHD shows are kept in an electronic library on the website.
Bacal, Anthem, Ariz., a 2010 SCORE season class point champion in Stock Full, won both the Tecate SCORE Baja 500 and the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 this year in the No. 8115 Lexus LX570. Bacal did not win this year’s season title as racers were required to run all three SCORE Baja races to qualify for a point title.
From Ensenada, Mexico, Hanna, who has now won the Class 7SX season point crown for four consecutive seasons, won all three SCORE races this year in his No. 740 Ford Ranger.
Matt Parks, Newport Beach, Calif., in his rookie season racing with SCORE, won the first two races of the year and clinched the season point title in Class 19 with his second place finish out of 19 starters in his class, in the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. He drives the No. 1932 Polaris RZRXP4 in the new SCORE Pro racing class for stock UTVs.
With the reception starting at 6 p.m. Saturday followed by dinner and the awards presentation, the SCORE Awards Night will be held at San Diego’s Town & Country Resort Hotel. The emcees for the evening will be veteran SCORE desert racers Cameron Steele and Johnny Campbell.
Tuesday’s show will also include a special video produced by one of the talented video companies licensed by SCORE.
Dirt LiveHD also goes on-site live with expanded event coverage during SCORE and HDRA race weeks and will next be on-site to cover the annual SCORE Awards Night to be held at the Town & Country Resort Hotel in San Diego on Saturday, Dec. 14.
With the show on the air for 46 weeks, special racer guests have included Jim Anderson, R.J. Anderson, Ryan Arciero, B.J. Baldwin, Robby Bell, Jonathan Brenthal, Johnny Buss, Johnny Campbell, Kurt Caselli, Dan Chamlee, Martin Christensen, Sean Cook, Justin Davis, Pat Dean, Colin Edwards, Shane Esposito, Steven Eugenio, T.J. Flores, Doug Fortin, Robby Gordon, Peter Hajas, Rod Hall, Shelby Hall, Nick Hamm, Elias Hanna, Steve Hengeveld, Ed Herbst, Jerry Herbst, Tim Herbst, Troy Herbst, Jesse Jones, Mike Julson, David Kamo, Lucas Knecht, Erek Kudla, John Langley, Morgan Langley, Zak Langley, Mike Lawrence, Harley Letner, Matt Loiodice, Brad Lovell, Rob MacCachren, Daniel McMillin, Jessica McMillin, Luke McMillin, Mark McMillin, Derek Murray, Jason Murray, Andrew Myers, Steve Olliges, Matt Parks, Adam Pfankuch, Mark Post, Kyle Quinn, Josh Quintero, Ivan Ramirez, Jay Reichert, Brett Robinson, Larry Roeseler, Kirk Russell, Mark Samuels, Cory Sappington, Ross Savage, Armin Schwarz, Fred Sobke, Pete Sohren, Cameron Steele, Craig Stewart, Ivan Stewart, Colton Udall, Gus Vildosola Sr, Gus Vildosola Jr, Jason Voss, Kellon Walch, Tim Weigand, Jessie Williamson, Brad Wilson, Brian Wilson, Randy Wilson, Rick Wilson, and Ronny Wilson.
Desert racing public address announcer and former racer George Antill is the executive producer and co-host of all Dirt LiveHD programming along with co-host Dianna Dahlgren, a Monster Energy Supercross TV commentator, fitness competitor, body builder and Ms. Monster Energy Supercross. One of the regular elements of the show on a SCORE social media interchange, allowing fans and racers to comment and ask questions through the SCORE Facebook and SCORE Twitter platforms.  Another special segment each week is Tech Tips with SCORE Tech co-directors Jake Velasco or Art Savedra or SCORE Trophy Truck racer and prep-shop owner T.J. Flores.
Andrew Grimshaw, SCORE Media Production Manager, is the coordinating producer of the show. The program is hosted on, the world’s largest streaming internet site.
The 2013 SCORE Desert Series was also part of the inaugural World Championship of Desert Racing, which combined points accumulated in the three SCORE Baja races along with points earned from three 2013 HDRA Series, all held in the United States. Both the SCORE and HDRA series crowned their own individual class and overall point champions as well with a bonus purse for those racers who qualified for the World Championship of Desert Racing points bonus purse program to earn a desert racing World Champion title.
For the inaugural World Championship of Desert Racing bonus purse, an official total of $45,000 has been posted from new SCORE sponsors Amber Racing Services ($25,000), King Shocks ($10,000) and Rigid Industries ($10,000).
For car and truck classes with at least three starters in each qualifying race in 2013, the World Champion titles were decided on combined points from the three SCORE races and three HDRA races with the bonus purse paid using the same formula based on total purse and number of starters in each class as is used currently for each SCORE race.
For the pro motorcycle and ATV classes, the World Championship of Desert Racing included points earned in the three SCORE Baja races as well as the AMA National Hare and Hound race that was held during the Eldorado HDRA Reno 500.
In addition to 2013 season class point championships and World Championship titles, the racers also competed for part of the nearly $400,000 in cash purse and contingency postings each race. There are also annual SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Awards. The 30 drivers in the Pro car and truck classes earned prestigious SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards given to all Pro car and truck class drivers who completed every required mile of the race season.  The Milestone Awards are being presented by Toyota Motorsports for the 28th consecutive year.
This year’s Tecate SCORE Baja 500 and Eldorado HDRA Reno 500 were part of a special program where the combined best qualified car/truck finisher received a special entry package into the 2014 Dakar Rally in South America. Regulations and other information on Dakar Challenge 2013 are available at The winner of the special package was Class 10 racer Peter Hajas, Wayzata, Minn.
Official Sponsors: Tecate Beer-Official Beer/Official Race Sponsor, Monster Energy-Official Energy Drink, BFGoodrich Tires-Official Tire, Amber Racing Services-Official Race Fuels, Rigid Industries-Official Lights, King Shocks-Official Shock Absorber, Volaris Airlines-Official Airline, Wide Open Excursions- Official Arrive and Drive Company, Coca-Cola-Official Soft Drink, Crystal Bay Casino-Official Casino, Hotel Coral and Marina-Official Hotel.
Associate Sponsors: Graham Watchmakers,, Symons Ambulance Company.
Additional SCORE Partners: Proturismo Ensenada, Visit Baja California Sur, Baja California Secretary of Tourism, Baja California Sur State Government, Mexicali Ayuntamineto, COTUCO Mexicali/San Felipe, Cruz Roja Mexicana, GoPro, PCI Race Radios, McKenzie’s Performance Products and Advanced Color Graphics.
For more information, visit the official website of the new SCORE Desert Series at