Granddaddy of All Desert Races-Milestones-SCORE Baja 1000 –

Granddaddy of All Desert Races-Milestones-SCORE Baja 1000


October 19, 2020

Race week Nov. 17-22

BFGoodrich Tires 53rd SCORE Baja 1000,
presented by 4 Wheel Parts
All-time SCORE Baja 1000 Milestones


Pre-running opens Saturday on record 934.47-mile loop course in Baja California;
for iconic season-finale of two-race 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship;
Internationally televised event to air domestically on ABC’s World of X Games

    ENSENADA, Baja California, Mexico—Known worldwide as the ‘Granddaddy of All Desert Races’, the SCORE Baja 1000 is at the pinnacle of motorsports as the most iconic, oldest, prestigious, toughest and longest continuously held desert race in the world.
Online racer entry applications are available for November’s iconic internationally-televised season-ending BFGoodrich Tires 53rd SCORE Baja 1000, presented by 4 Wheel Parts, the final round of the pandemic-abbreviated two-race 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship.
Starting and finishing under strict BioSecurity health and safety protocols in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico, race-week activities and the race itself will be held Nov. 17-22.
Racer entry applications are now available at under Race Info on the SCORE Baja 1000 page. Questions should be directed to SCORE Registration and Membership Director Audreonna Garcia at 775. 852.8907 or via email at Online racer entry applications will be accepted through Friday, Nov. 6.
53rd SCORE BAJA 1000
Many of the world’s best desert racers will be in action at this year’s massive BFGoodrich Tires 53rd SCORE Baja 1000, presented by 4 Wheel Parts. The race will be televised on a delayed basis as a one-hour special on ABC TV’s World of X Games programming.
Ensenada, “The Off-Road Capital of the World” is a coastal city on the Bahia de Todos Santos area of the Pacific Ocean, 80 miles south of the U.S. border at San Diego.
Over 200 vehicles are expected at the start line with racers from nearly 30 U.S. States and as many as 10 countries anticipated. Long-time SCORE sponsor and race title sponsor BFGoodrich Tires has also posted a US$25,000 contingency bonus for the overall 4-wheel winner to help commemorate the renewal of this legendary SCORE race.
This year’s SCORE Baja 1000 will be a loop race of a spectacular 934.47 miles in the northern state of Mexico’s majestic Baja California peninsula.
     Here is a quick look at some of the many milestones in the history of the Granddaddy of All Desert Races…
1962 – In March Dave Ekins and Bill Roberston Jr. ride The 1000 Miles of Baja for the first run ever.

1966 – In May Dave & Bud Ekins, with Eddie Mulder and Cliff Coleman Ride Again to finish the 1000
Miles of Baja and complete the First Non-Assisted Ride.

1967 – October 31, Ed Pearlman puts together the First Official Mexican 1000 Race
From Tijuana to La Paz
-Vic Wilson/Ted Mangels first overall winner, driving a Meyers Manx-VW
-J.N. Robert/Malcolm Smith first overall motorcycle winner, riding on Husqvarna

1968 – Larry Minor the first person to win the SCORE Baja 1000 overall back to back in 1968-‘69

1969 – Rod Hall wins his only overall title in the race (with Larry Minor)
-Hall raced in all of the 50 first years and owns a record 25 class wins

1973 – Mickey Thompson takes over the Mexican 1000 Baja race and forms SCORE

1974 – Sal Fish takes control of SCORE and runs it for the next 38 Years
-Only year that the SCORE Baja 1000 did not occur due to U.S. Oil Crisis

1975 – Malcolm Smith becomes the first to win both an overall 4-wheel and 2-wheel titles win he wins
the 4-Wheel with Dr. Bud Feldkamp in a Funco-VW. They won again in 4-wheel in 1977

1976 – BFGoodrich Tires begins a 40-plus year history racing in the SCCORE Baja 1000
-BFGoodrich Tires has won a race-record 28 4-wheel overall titles in this race

1978 – Larry Roeseler and Jack Johnson are the first to win the SCORE Baja 1000
three times in a row on motorcycles 1978, 1979, 1980.

1979 – PPI Begins Racing in SCORE with the Toyota Team and Ivan Stewart
-Frank De Angelo, with BFGoodrich Tires, start pits for racers at SCORE events
-Walker Evans wins the overall 4-wheel title earning the first by a truck

1982- Mickey Thompson wins his first and only SCORE Baja 1000 in a Raceco-VW

1990 – Bob Gordon wins the overall 4-wheel with his daughter Robyn and son Robby, marking the
first time for both a father/daughter and father/son overall win and Robyn is first female overall winner

1994 – SCORE Trophy Truck Class debuts; created by SCORE’s Sal Fish
-Jimmy Smith wins the first SCORE Trophy Truck title at the SCORE Baja 1000

1994-1997 – SCORE Trophy Truck runs as its own series, Jimmy Smith wins this race in 1994, Larry
Ragland wins in 1995, 1996 and 1997

1997 – Johnny Campbell wins his first of 11 overall mototcycle titles, all on Honda bikes

1999 – Larry Ragland wins the first SCORE Trophy Truck overall as part of the regular series to give
him four wins in five years in the marquee racing division

2000 – Dave Ashley and Dan Smith win the once-in-a-lifetime SCORE Baja 2000 from Ensenada to     Cabo San Lucas, held to commemorate the new millennium
-Team of Johnny Campbell/Tim Staab/Craig Smith/Steve Hengeveld win motorcycle overall

2004 – Larry Roeseler becomes only the second person in race history to win the overall on both 2-wheel and 4-wheel, earning the 4-wheel title with Troy Herbst.

2006 – 431 total starters, most in the history of this race from Ensenada to La Paz
          –Andy McMillin/Robby Gordon win 4-Wheel overall, Andy is the youngest overall winner at 19
-Steve Hengeveld/Mike Childress/Quinn Cody win 2-wheel overall

2007 – 40th anniversary race from Ensenada to Cabo San Lucas, race-record 237 finishers
Mark Post, Rob MacCachren and Carl Renezeder win 4-wheel overall

2008 – Johnny Campbell, riding with Robby Bell and Kendall Norman wins his record-setting 11th overall motorcycle title
– Roger Norman wins the overall 4-wheel with Larry Roeseler. Roeseler has a record 13 overall wins in this race, 10 in 2-wheel and three in 4-wheel. Roeseler is the only racer to win this race overall in a truck, car and a motorcycle

2010 – Gustavo ‘Tavo’ Vildosola and his father Gustavo Vildosola Sr. become the first Mexican nationals to win the overall; Roger Norman finishes third overall driving solo down the peninsula

2011 – Andy McMillin and his father Scott Millin son/father duo wins the 4-Wheel Overall

2012 – B.J. Baldwin wins the SCORE Baja 1000 back-to-back in 2012 and 2013
-Roger Norman takes over ownership of SCORE on December 20

2014, 2015, 2016 – In 2014 Rob MacCachren wins the Overall SCORE Baja 1000 with Andy McMillin and Jason Voss. MacCachren wins again in 2015 with Andy McMillin and a third straight in 2016 with Jason Voss

2014 – With riders Ricky Brabec/Robby Bell/Steve Hengeveld/Max Eddy Jr., Kawasaki motorcycle returns to the top of the podium, breaking the record 17 straight 2-wheel wins by Honda

2017 – Carlos ‘Apdaly’ Lopez and his father Juan C. Lopez team to capture the Overall at the 50th Anniversary of the Granddaddy of All Desert Races, the second team of Mexican nationals to win the Overall title at this epic event

2018 –Motorcycle racers Justin Morgan, Mark Samuels, Justin Jones won on a Honda
-Cameron Steele and Pat Dean won the Overall and SCORE Trophy Truck class giving BFGoodrich Tires its 30th Overall 4-wheel vehicle title in this race

2019 –Following an unprecedented one-day rain-delay, Motorcycle racer Justin Morgan won his 11th straight SCORE overall 2-wheel victory teaming this time with Shane Esposito, Max Eddy Jr and David Kamo to give Honda its race-record 29th Overall 2-wheel victory in this race
-Ensenada brothers Alan and Aaron Ampudia became just the third Mexican national team to win the SCORE Baja 1000 in its 52-year history to give Ford Truck its race-record 14th overall