2021 SCORE Off-Roadsman Awards voting now open online – SCORE-International.com

2021 SCORE Off-Roadsman Awards voting now open online

SCORE MEDIA CONTACT: Dominic Clark dominic@score-international.com

December 31, 2021

Voting until Friday, Jan. 7

Online voting for 2021 SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year
 now open now for SCORE World Desert Championship

voting online for eight 2021 SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Awards at

Virtual SCORE Awards Night to be held in late January, 2022

    ENSENADA, Baja California, Mexico—Online voting has begun for the 2021 SCORE Off-Roadsman Awards and will continue until 6 p.m. (PT) on Friday, Jan. 7, officials of the SCORE World Desert Championship announced today.
Having completed 48 years as the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Organization, SCORE International has eight annual SCORE Off-Roadsman Award winners selected by online voting on the home page of the SCORE website at
which opened today and will close at 6 p.m. (PT) next Friday.
Individuals as well as manufacturers and organizations are honored through eight distinct SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Awards, whose winners are decided by several thousand SCORE fans through online voting including the entire SCORE membership of more than 2,600. Among the awards to be presented are SCORE Rookie of the year, SCORE Contingency Company of the year, SCORE Pit Support Team of the year, SCORE Mechanic of the year and SCORE Team Manager of the year.
Five additional SCORE Off-Roadsman categories, including Original Chassis Builder of the Year and Engine Builder of the Year are determined by a special points system. The SCORE Person of the Year Award is selected by a SCORE committee as is the SCORE Legacy Award.
Winners of the public voting and all other award winners will be honored in late January during a virtual pre-recorded SCORE Awards Night which celebrates the pandemic-challenged 2021 SCORE World Desert Championship.
This is the 11th season that SCORE has used open online voting to determine the award winners. Prior to that, the winners were selected by way of a vote conducted solely with SCORE members.
Here are the official voting lists of finalists for the 2021 SCORE Off-Roadsman Awards…

2021 SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Finalists


SCORE Contingency Company of the Year

  • Baja Designs
  • BFGoodrich Tires
  • King Shocks
  • Method Race Wheels
  • PCI Race Radios
  • Yokohama Tires

SCORE Pit Support Team of the Year

  • Baja Pits
  • BFGoodrich Tires
  • Checkers Off-Road
  • Mag 7

SCORE Mechanic of the Year

  • Josh Stewart, Phil Blurton Racing
  • Andreas ‘Lechero’ Rodriguez, MacCachren Motorsports
  • Max Krommenhoek, McMillin Racing
  • Kyle Dodson, Jason McNeil Racing
  • Fernando Arriola, Juan Carlos Salvatierra Racing

SCORE Journalist of the Year

  • Raul Ayub, CBC Radio
  • Gabriel Garcia, SCORE Social Media/El Vigia Newspaper
  • Mike Ingalsbee, Freelance
  • Dan Sanchez, SCORE Journal
  • Alejandro Zepeda, LaCronica/Frontera Newspapers

SCORE Photographer of the Year

  • Brian Binkert, Bink Designs
  • Art Eugenio, GetSomePhoto
  • Jason Zindroski, HighRev Photo
  • Ernesto Ariaza, Off-RoadRacer.com
  • Jack Wright, SCORE Marketing/NMedia3

SCORE Videographer of the Year

  • Bud Brutsman, BCII TV
  • Erin Bryant, Turn2TV Productions
  • Esteban Flores, Cactus Films
  • Russell Johnston, Lofton Racing
  • Caleb Norman, McMillin Racing
  • Justin Chaisson, Menzies Motorsports

SCORE Team Manager of the Year

  • Phil Blurton Sr, Phil Blurton Racing
  • John Hagle, Ethan Hagle Racing
  • Amber MacCachren, MacCachren Motorsports
  • Juan Apalategui, Jason McNeil Motorsports

SCORE Rookie of the Year

  • Phil Blurton, Pro UTV FI
  • Ethan Hagle, Class 10
  • Elijah Kiger, Trophy Truck Spec
  • Cayden MacCachren, Pro UTV FI
  • Larry Negrete Jr, Class 5-1600
  • Jax Redline, SCORE Trophy Truck

In addition to the special SCORE Achievement Awards and the Pro and Sportsman classes that qualified racers for class season championships, the four overall point champions will again be recognized.
Another element of the diverse program for the virtual evening will be the presentation of the 2021 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards, presented by VP Racing Fuels.  As it has for 36 years, the coveted Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards are presented to those racers who finish every required mile as official finishers of the 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship. An amazing total of a record 55 racers completed all 2,366.55 required miles in the pandemic-challenged four-race 2021 SCORE World Desert Championship.
Also part of the virtual evening will be the presentation of the SCORE Legacy Award and the SCORE Person of the Year Award both of which are selected by SCORE in consultation with several industry professionals and racers.
The virtual evening will also include a colorful video/photographic tributes to the class champions of 2021 SCORE World Desert Championship produced by BCII TV, SCORE Live and GetSomePhoto.
Popular SCORE live announcer Rat Sult returns as the host of the virtual 2021 SCORE Awards Night.
Here are the dates for the four-race 2022 SCORE World Desert Championship which will be held exclusively in Baja California, Mexico for the seventh consecutive year:

  • 35th SCORE San Felipe 250—

March 29-April 3, San Felipe, Mexico

  • BFGoodrich Tires 54th SCORE Baja 500, presented by 4 Wheel Parts—

June 1-5, Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

  • 3rd SCORE Baja 400—

September 13-18, Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

  • BFGoodrich Tires 55th SCORE Baja 1000, presented by 4 Wheel Parts—

November 15-20, Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
For the third straight year, the 2021 SCORE World Desert Championship races are airing on the ESPN family of networks. The four-races are airing as specials on the World of X Games program on ESPN2. The BFGoodrich Tires 54th SCORE Baja 1000, presented by 4 Wheel Parts, is scheduled to air on January 9, 2022. Check local listings for exact time.
ABC first covered the 1967 and 1968 Baja 1000 races on the old ABC Wide World of Sports show with Jim McKay and again in the late 1980s with veteran motorsports journalists Sam Posey and Jack Arute.
All of the SCORE race coverage shows also continue to air internationally in nearly 25 countries in Europe, Asia, Latin America and South America via syndication and ESPN International. The shows are co-produced by SCORE International and SoCal’s award-winning BCII TV.
Official SCORE Sponsors: BFGoodrich Tires-Official Tire and Race Title Sponsor, Monster Energy-Official Energy Drink, 4 Wheel Parts-Official Off-Road Retailer and Race Presenting Partner, Ford-Official Truck and SUV, King Shocks-Official Shock Absorber, Polaris RZR-Official UTV, RACELINE Wheels-Official Wheel, VP Racing Fuels-Official Fuel and Race Presenting Sponsor, Wide Open Excursions-Official Arrive and Drive Company, Crystal Bay Casino-Official Casino and PCI Race Radios.
SCORE Official Partners: The Satellite Phone Store, Instant Mexico Auto Insurance, Lucerna Hotel.
Additional SCORE Associate Partners: Baja California Secretary of Sustainable Economy and Tourism, XXIII Ensenada Municipal Government, Ensenada Hotel and Motel Association, Ensenada Tourism Marketing Committee and Cruz Roja Mexicana.
For more information regarding SCORE, visit the official website of the SCORE World Desert Championship at www.SCORE-International.com.