Special recap show of recent 46th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 in spotlight on tonight’s SCORE Dirt LiveHD internet show – SCORE-International.com

Special recap show of recent 46th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 in spotlight on tonight’s SCORE Dirt LiveHD internet show

December 3, 2013

Highlight package to include key elements from extensive Dirt LiveHD coverage of race week

     SAN DIEGO—Highlights from extensive week-long coverage of the recent 46th annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 has been packaged into a one-hour special to air tonight on the SCORE Dirt LiveHD internet show airing at 7 p.m. (PT). The granddaddy of all desert race was held Nov. 12-17 in the northern part of Mexico’s Baja California peninsula, starting and finishing in the heart of Ensenada.
     The race featured 251 starters from 34 U.S. States, the U.S. Territory of Guam and 23 total countries competing in 42 Pro and 7 Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, motorcycles and ATVs.
     The 883.1-mile race course was the longest loop race in the history of the iconic race less than 50 percent of the starters made it to the finish line within the 36-hour (cars and trucks) and 34-hour (motorcycles and ATVs) time limits in the elapsed-time race.
     For the second straight year, Las Vegas’ B.J. Baldwin was the overall 4-wheel and SCORE Trophy Truck champion while winning the overall motorcycle and Class 22 title was the JCR Honda team led by Tim Weigand, Valencia, Calif.  Winning the overall ATV and Class 25 title was the team led by Mexico’s Adolfo Arrellano.
     The overall Dirt Live HD coverage and tonight’s special highlight show were produced by Andrew Grimshaw, SCORE’s Media Production Manager in association with executive producer and host George Anthill along with co-host Dianna Dahlgren.
     Roger Norman’s Dirt LiveHD one-hour show is broadcast live weekly and the show is anchored around Norman’s two desert racing series, the SCORE Desert Series and the High Desert Racing Association as well as the new bonus points championship purse program he has developed called the World Championship of Desert Racing. All live events, this will be the 46th weekly Dirt LiveHD episode to air. Replays of previous Dirt LiveHD shows are kept in an electronic library on the dirtlive.com website.
     Dirt LiveHD also goes on-site live with expanded event coverage during SCORE and HDRA race weeks and will next be on-site to cover the annual SCORE Awards Night to be held at the Town & Country Resort Hotel in San Diego on Saturday, Dec. 14.
     With the show on the air for 45 weeks, special racer guests have included Jim Anderson, R.J. Anderson, Ryan Arciero, B.J. Baldwin, Robby Bell, Jonathan Brenthal, Johnny Buss, Johnny Campbell, Kurt Caselli, Dan Chamlee, Martin Christensen, Sean Cook, Justin Davis, Pat Dean, Colin Edwards, Shane Esposito, Steven Eugenio, T.J. Flores, Doug Fortin, Robby Gordon, Peter Hajas, Rod Hall, Shelby Hall, Nick Hamm, Elias Hanna, Steve Hengeveld, Ed Herbst, Jerry Herbst, Tim Herbst, Troy Herbst, Jesse Jones, Mike Julson, David Kamo, Lucas Knecht, Erek Kudla, John Langley, Morgan Langley, Zak Langley, Mike Lawrence, Harley Letner, Matt Loiodice, Brad Lovell, Rob MacCachren, Daniel McMillin, Jessica McMillin, Luke McMillin, Mark McMillin, Derek Murray, Jason Murray, Andrew Myers, Steve Olliges, Matt Parks, Adam Pfankuch, Mark Post, Kyle Quinn, Josh Quintero, Ivan Ramirez, Jay Reichert, Brett Robinson, Larry Roeseler, Kirk Russell, Mark Samuels, Cory Sappington, Ross Savage, Armin Schwarz, Fred Sobke, Pete Sohren, Cameron Steele, Craig Stewart, Ivan Stewart, Colton Udall, Gus Vildosola Sr, Gus Vildosola Jr, Jason Voss, Kellon Walch, Tim Weigand, Jessie Williamson, Brad Wilson, Brian Wilson, Randy Wilson, Rick Wilson, and Ronny Wilson.
     Desert racing public address announcer and former racer George Antill is the executive producer and co-host of all Dirt LiveHD programming along with co-host Dianna Dahlgren, a Monster Energy Supercross TV commentator, fitness competitor, body builder and Ms. Monster Energy Supercross. One of the regular elements of the show on a SCORE social media interchange, allowing fans and racers to comment and ask questions through the SCORE Facebook and SCORE Twitter platforms.  Another special segment each week is Tech Tips with SCORE Tech co-directors Jake Velasco or Art Savedra or SCORE Trophy Truck racer and prep-shop owner T.J. Flores.
     Andrew Grimshaw, SCORE Media Production Manager, is the coordinating producer of the show. The program is hosted on ustream.com, the world’s largest streaming internet site.
     The 2013 SCORE Desert Series was also part of the inaugural World Championship of Desert Racing, which combined points accumulated in the three SCORE Baja races along with points earned from three 2013 HDRA Series, all held in the United States. Both the SCORE and HDRA series crowned their own individual class and overall point champions as well with a bonus purse for those racers who qualified for the World Championship of Desert Racing points bonus purse program to earn a desert racing World Champion title.
     For the inaugural World Championship of Desert Racing bonus purse, an official total of $45,000 has been posted from new SCORE sponsors Amber Racing Services ($25,000), King Shocks ($10,000) and Rigid Industries ($10,000).
     For car and truck classes with at least three starters in each qualifying race in 2013, the World Champion titles were decided on combined points from the three SCORE races and three HDRA races with the bonus purse paid using the same formula based on total purse and number of starters in each class as is used currently for each SCORE race.
     For the pro motorcycle and ATV classes, the World Championship of Desert Racing included points earned in the three SCORE Baja races as well as the AMA National Hare and Hound race that was held during the Eldorado HDRA Reno 500.
    In addition to season class point championships and World Championship titles, the racers are also competing for part of the nearly $400,000 in cash purse and contingency postings each race. There are also annual SCORE Off-Roadsman of the Year Awards. The 30 drivers in the Pro car and truck classes earned prestigious SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards given to all Pro car and truck class drivers who completed every required mile of the race season.  The Milestone Awards are being presented by Toyota Motorsports for the 28th consecutive year.
     This year’s Tecate SCORE Baja 500 and Eldorado HDRA Reno 500 were part of a special program where the combined best qualified car/truck finisher received a special entry package into the 2014 Dakar Rally in South America. Regulations and other information on Dakar Challenge 2013 are available at http://www.dakar.com/dakar/2013/us/dakar-challenge.html. The winner of the special package was Class 10 racer Peter Hajas, Wayzata, Minn.
     Official Sponsors: Tecate Beer-Official Beer/Official Race Sponsor, Monster Energy-Official Energy Drink, BFGoodrich Tires-Official Tire, Amber Racing Services-Official Race Fuels, Rigid Industries-Official Lights, King Shocks-Official Shock Absorber, Volaris Airlines-Official Airline, Wide Open Excursions- Official Arrive and Drive Company, Coca-Cola-Official Soft Drink, Crystal Bay Casino-Official Casino, Hotel Coral and Marina-Official Hotel.
     Associate Sponsors: Graham Watchmakers, SatellitePhoneStore.com, Symons Ambulance Company.
     Additional SCORE Partners: Proturismo Ensenada, Visit Baja California Sur, Baja California Secretary of Tourism, Baja California Sur State Government, Mexicali Ayuntamineto, COTUCO Mexicali/San Felipe, Cruz Roja Mexicana, GoPro, PCI Race Radios, McKenzie’s Performance Products and Advanced Color Graphics.
     For more information, visit the official website of the new SCORE Desert Series at www.score-international.com.

SCORE MEDIA CONTACT: Dominic Clark, dominiccnv@aol.com