World Champions of Desert Racing Announced –

World Champions of Desert Racing Announced

Ten Off-Road Champions emerge from year-long competition
held in both United States and Baja, Mexico

SAN DIEGO – Concluding a grueling combination of six off-road races staged on both sides of the border, ten new World Champions of Desert Racing are being crowned. After over 2600 miles of intense off-road competition, these Champions proved to be the best of the best among world-class desert racers.

Champions in Truck and Buggy classes: Trophy Truck, BJ Baldwin, Las Vegas NV; Trophy Truck Spec, Clyde Stacy, Bristol VA; Class 1, Cody Parkhouse, Long Beach CA; Class 10, Andrew Meyers, San Marcos CA; Class 7200, Josh Quintero, El Centro CA; Class 7sx/7s, Elias Hanna, Ensenada Mexico; Class 5-1600, Clyde Stacy, Bristol VA; Class 1900 UTV, Paul Broughton, Scotts Valley CA.

Motorcycle Classes: Class M-22, Kurt Caselli, Palmdale CA (Posthumous); Class M-30, Mike Johnson, El Paso TX

This Inaugural 2013 World Championship Program combined points accumulated from three SCORE races in Baja, Mexico and three HDRA races in the United States. The World Championship format was created by Roger Norman, owner of both SCORE and HDRA, to determine desert racing class champions competing at the international level.
This bonus race program started in January in Jean, Nevada, in 17-degree temperatures, followed by races in summer desert heat. The 2013 World Championship of Desert Racing series finished with the 46th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 on the Pacific coast centered in Ensenada, Baja Mexico in November.

For the inaugural World Championship of Desert Racing bonus purse, an official total of $45,000 has been posted from new SCORE sponsors Amber Racing Services ($25,000), King Shocks ($10,000) and Rigid Industries ($10,000). Truck and buggy competitors needed to participate in all three SCORE races in Baja, and a minimum of two of the three HDRA U.S. races to be eligible for the World Championship title. Motorcycles competed in all three Mexico SCORE races and the AMA National Hare and Hound race held in conjunction with the Eldorado HDRA Reno 500 in July.

Awards for their World Championship achievements will be presented during the SCORE International gala Awards Night at San Diego’s Town & Country Resort on Saturday, Dec. 14. Nearly 400 SCORE racers, family, friends, crews, sponsors and media will bask in the Southern California sunshine as the SCORE Awards Night will honor the 40-year history and fame of the name which is the standard for desert racing worldwide.

In addition to SCORE and World Champion awards there will be numerous other awards presented honoring individuals, manufacturers and organizations associated with SCORE International. Many of these popular awards are voted on by the 2000-plus members of SCORE.

Another element of the diverse program will be the presentation of the SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards. As it has for 28 years, the coveted Toyota Milestone Awards are presented to those drivers in four-wheel vehicle classes who finish every required mile of the 2013 SCORE Desert Series. A total of 30 racers completed all 1,638.1 required miles in the three-race 2013 SCORE Desert Series.

The evening will include a colorful video/photographic tribute to the 2013 SCORE Desert Series produced by Dirt LiveHD and GetSomePhoto.

A pre-awards reception will start the festivities at 6 p.m., followed by the dinner, a special tribute to the 2013 SCORE season and presentations at 7 p.m. Individual ticket reservations as well as reservations for tables of 10, priced at $850 per table, are being accepted online at or by calling the SCORE offices at 775.852.8900. Individual tickets are $85 each.

The Town & Country is offering a special room block for the SCORE Awards Night. For those interested, contact the hotel at 800.772.8527. The special SCORE rate is $99 per room in the Royal Palm Tower, plus $5 for parking.