SCORE Latest News

76 rugged racers still in hunt for SCORE Milestone Awards

By Dominic Clark / Photo by GetSomePhoto

SCORE MEDIA CONTACT: Dominic Clark,   October 13, 2023   ‘Celebrating 50 Years of SCORE Desert Racing Excellence’ Presented by Toyota Escondido 76 racers vying for 2023 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards Entering 2023 SCORE World Desert Championship finale   For Pro, Sportsman racers in cars, trucks, UTVs, motorcycles and quads completing every required race mile   ENSENADA, Baja California, Mexico—‘Celebrating 50 Years of SCORE Desert Racing Excellence’ this year, through three of the four-race 2023 SCORE World Desert Championship, 76 of the toughest racers in the world remain in the hunt to earn 2023 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards, presented by Toyota Escondido. The first three races, all held in Baja California, Mexico, were the 36th SCORE San Felipe 250, presented by Baja Vida, in San Felipe in April, the 55th BFGoodrich Tires SCORE Baja 500 in Ensenada in June, and the K&N 4th SCORE Baja 400, presented by VP Racing Fuels, in Ensenada in September. SCORE MILESTONE AWARDS SCORE is presenting these prestigious awards to the world’s toughest desert racers for the 38th consecutive year. The SCORE Milestone Awards, presented by Toyota Escondido, will be presented to the car, truck, UTV drivers and motorcycle, quad riders who finish every required mile as official finishers in the 2023 SCORE World Desert Championship. Racers have been required to cover 1140.84 miles in three of the four races so far this season. NEXT UP      Most of the world's best desert racers will be in action at this year's BFGoodrich Tires 56th SCORE Baja 1000, presented by K&N. Finale of the 2023 SCORE World Desert Championship will be held Nov. 13-18, starting for the first time ever in La Paz, Baja California Sur, and finishing for the 29th time in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico. Over 300 vehicles are expected at the start line with racers from nearly 40 U.S. States and as many as 20 countries anticipated. Pro and Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, UTVs, motorcycles and quads will be competing in the iconic ‘Granddaddy of All Desert Races’. La Paz, the capital of the Mexican State of Baja California Sur, is located 1000 miles south of the U.S. Border at San Diego. Ensenada, “The Off-Road Racing Capital of the World” is a coastal port city on the Bahia de Todos Santos area of the Pacific Ocean, 80 miles south of the U.S. border at San Diego. Pre-race activities and the official start for the race will be held on the picturesque El Malecon in La Paz on the Sea of Cortez.  The finish line will be on the fan-friendly Blvd. Costero in the heart of Ensenada adjacent to the iconic fan-friendly Riviera del Pacifico Cultural Center. The reigning overall champions in this legendary race are Luke McMillin/Rob MacCachren in 4-wheel vehicles and the team of Mark Samuels/Justin Morgan/Kendall Norman in motorcycles. TOP CLASSES The 76 racers who have completed all the required miles thus far are from 24 different SCORE racing classes. Leading the way in the chase for 2023 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards, presented by Toyota Escondido are nine superlative stallions in the featured SCORE Trophy Truck division, one in the SCORE TT Legend class, three in the unlimited Class 1, 13 in Trophy Truck Spec, five in Class 10, seven in Pro UTV Open, five in Pro UTV FI (Forced Injection), four in Pro UTV Stock, four in Pro Moto Unlimited, three in Pro Moto Limited along with three in Pro Moto Ironman. SCORE COMMENTS “SCORE is privileged to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers and riders,” said Jim Ryan, SCORE Vice-President of Marketing and Sales. “For nearly four decades, SCORE has been very humbled to honor racers with the Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards, presented by Toyota Escondido. SCORE racers are the toughest, most rugged racers on the planet. This most prestigious award has become iconic in our sport. It is also a distinct privilege for us to continue to honor the memory of one of the greatest desert racers of all time in having Rod Hall’s name on this unique and wonderful award.” SCORE TROPHY TRUCK Celebrating its 30th year since it was introduced by SCORE’s then-owner Sal Fish in 1994, SCORE Trophy Truck is the sport’s marquee racing division for high-tech, 1000 horsepower unlimited custom trucks. For more information regarding SCORE, visit the official website of the SCORE World Desert Championship at 2023 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards, presented by Toyota Escondido (76 car, truck, UTV, M/C and quad racers who have completed every required mile so far in the 2023 SCORE World Desert Championship)   SCORE Trophy Truck (9) Bryce Menzies, Las Vegas Luke McMillin, San Diego Larry Roeseler, Imperial, Calif. Andrew Myers, San Marcos, Calif. Dallas Luttrell, Las Vegas Dan McMillin, San Diego Kevin Thompson, New Braunfels, Texas Roberto Romo Jr, Mexicali, Mexico Tim Herbst, Las Vegas SCORE TT Legend (1) Gustavo Vildosola Sr, Mexicali, Mexico Class 1 (3) Cody Reid, Apple Valley, Calif. Damen Jefferies, Poolville, Texas Al Torres, Imperial Valley, Calif. Trophy Truck Spec (13) Jason McNeil, El Cajon, Calif. Thor Herbst, Las Vegas Michael Marsal, Millbrook, N.Y. EJ Herbst, Las Vegas Mason Cullen, Long Beach, Calif. Brent Fox, Highland, Utah Travis Williams, Avondale, Ariz. Ethan Hagle, Somis, Calif. Oliver Flemate, Ensenada, Mexico David Ziegler, Reno, Nev. Dustin Swanson, Honolulu Santiago Creel, Mexico City, Mexico Joe Delucie, Las Vegas Class 10 (5) Francisco Vera, El Rosario, Mexico Justin Buckley, Long Beach, Calif. Carlos Guillen, San Diego

  1. David Rubalcaba, Ensenada, Mexico
Hiram Duran, Tecate, Mexico Pro UTV Open (7) Brock Heger, El Centro, Calif. Wayne Matlock, Alpine, Calif. Justin Lambert, Bakersfield, Calif. Mike Cafro, Temecula, Calif. Cayden MacCachren, Las Vegas Austin Weiland, El Cajon, Calif. Kaden Wells, Hurricane, Utah Pro UTV FI (5) Jason Murray, North Tustin, Calif. Rickey Arslanian, Livermore, Calif. Carlos Quezada, Mexicali, Mexico Jessica Lopez, Tecate, Mexico Jesus Mendez Jr, Mexicali, Mexico SCORE Lites (1) Oscar Alvarez, McAllen, Texas Pro UTV NA (2) Joe Bolton, Corona, Calif. Lawrence Janesky, Middlebury, Conn. Class 1/2-1600 (1) Eric Pavolka, Sonoita, Ariz. Pro UTV Stock (4) Antonio Mendez, Puebla, Mexico Jorge Cano, Culiacan, Mexico Randy Emberton, Prescott, Ariz. Endy Chavez, Mexicali, Mexico Class 5 (1) Eli Yee, Tijuana, Mexico Class 11 (1) Oliver Flemate, Ensenada, Mexico Pro Moto Unlimited (4) Ciaran Naran, Huntington Beach, Calif. Juan Carlos Salvatierra, Bolivia Eric Holt, Panaca, Nev. Adrian Ortiz, Dulzura, Calif. Pro Moto 30 (2) Jano Montoya, Winter Garden, Fla. (Peru) David Smith, Escondido, Calif. Pro Moto Limited (3) Fernando Beltran, Ensenada, Mexico Ely Ramirez, Tecate, Mexico Steven Abrams, Meridian, Idaho Pro Moto 40 (1) Alirio Armado, The Woodlands, Texas Pro Moto 50 (1) Robert Creemers, New Zealand Pro Moto Ironman (3) Brandon Wright, Oak Hills, Calif. Fabricio Fuentes, Bolivia Kurt Steever, Grass Valley, Calif. PRO MOTO 60 (1) Kevin Ward, Longview, Texas Pro Quad (2) Nicolas Velez, San Felipe, Mexico Jose Castro, San Jose del Cabo, Mexico Pro Quad Ironman (1) Faelly Lopez, San Lorenzo, Puerto Rico SPT M/C (1) Armando Ortiz, Tijuana, Mexico SPT Quad (4) Sergio Jimenez, Valle de Mexicali, Mexico Francisco Valle, Tecate, Mexico Jose Gonzalez, Tecate, Mexico Eva Hernandez, Escondido, Calif.